Hearing in House on October 4

ISSUE

The Texas House Texas Representative district map made public on September 30, continues to reflect the racially discriminatory approach that the Texas legislature has followed in drawing recently issued Texas Senate and U.S. Congressional district maps.

Black and Hispanic Texans make up two racial groups that, along with Asian Texans, outpaced the growth of white residents in the state over the last decade. But according to the Texas Tribune, this new PLANH2021 House map would create fewer districts where Black and Hispanic people make up a majority of eligible voters. Also, of 150 districts, the PLANH2021 House map would:

  • increase (from 83 to 89) the number of districts in which white residents make up a majority of eligible voters
  • reduce (from 33 to 30) the number of districts where Hispanic voters make up the majority
  • reduce (from 7 to 4) the number of districts in which Black residents are the majority of eligible voters

The current, as well as the just released maps, do not include a district in which Asian residents make up a majority. Twenty-seven districts have no majority racial group, though race continues to be a major consideration in drawing Texas electoral district maps.

There are hearings scheduled in both the House and Senate on Monday, October 4, at 9:00 AM. There’s info below about commenting to both chambers. See WHAT YOU CAN SAY OR WRITE below for some points to include in your testimony or comment. (Please personalize and add info from the many articles you’ll find online.)

TESTIFY AT THE HOUSE REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE HEARING

Note: See WHAT YOU CAN SAY OR WRITE below for some points to include in your testimony or comment. Please personalize and add info from the many articles you’ll find online.

In Person

The House Redistricting Committee will hold a public hearing on October 4, 2021, at 9:00 AM at Capitol Extension Auditorium, E1.004 to hear invited and public testimony. All testimony will be limited to 3 minutes. Information for in-person witness registration is HERE.

Members of the public who cannot attend the hearing in person may request to be invited to provide their testimony virtually by video conference. You can request an invitation to provide testimony virtually by registering for an invitation in advance of the hearing. Registration to testify virtually at the hearing is now open and will close 24 hours prior to the start time of the hearing (9:00 AM on October 3, 2021).

Online

Texas residents can electronically submit comments until the hearing is adjourned. Submit comments HERE.

WRITE TO HOUSE REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Note: See WHAT YOU CAN SAY OR WRITE below for some points to include in your testimony or comment. Please personalize and add info from the many articles you’ll find online.

House Redistricting Committee

  • Chair: Todd Hunter, 512-463-0672, todd.hunter@house.texas.gov
  • Vice-Chair: Toni Rose, 512-463-0664, toni.rose@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Rafael Anchia, 512-463-0746, rafael.anchia@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Craig Goldman, 512-463-0608, craig.goldman@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Ryan Guillen, 512-463-0416, ryan.guillen@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Jacey Jetton, 512-463-0710, jacey.jetton@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Brooks Landgraf, 512-463-0546, brooks.landgraf@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Ina Minjarez, 512-463-0634, ina.minjarez@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Joe Moody, 512-463-0728, joe.moody@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Geanie Morrison, 512-463-0456, geanie.morrison@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Andrew Murr, 512-463-0536, andrew.murr@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Mike Schofield, 512-463-0528, mike.schofield@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Senfronia Thompson, 512-463-0720, senfronia.thompson@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Chris Turner, 512-463-0574, chris.turner@house.texas.gov
  • Member: James White, 512-463-0490, james.white@house.texas.gov

WATCH THE COMMITTEE HEARING

A live video broadcast of this hearing will be available HERE.

CONTACT YOUR OWN REPRESENTATIVE

Note: See WHAT YOU CAN SAY OR WRITE below for some points to include in your testimony or comment. Please personalize and add info from the many articles you’ll find online.

Your elected representatives need to hear from you. You can call, email–or especially visit–your local district office. Representatives are directly impacted by their constituents’ visits. Express your opposition to racially discriminatory House, Senate, State Board of Education, and congressional districts.

Find who represents you HERE. Then find the contact info for your state representative HERE or HERE.

WHAT YOU CAN SAY OR WRITE

Here’s a suggestion of what you can write or say… (please personalize!).

My name is ______ and I live in _______. My zip code is ________. I condemn the intentional use of race or proxies for race in the drawing of redistricted maps. I oppose the drawing of electoral district maps that do not reflect the record growth in population of people of color in Texas’ most populous counties. The goal of redistricting should be to accomplish what the Bill of Rights guarantees: equal justice under the law. Texas is an enormous state with a wide variety of people, cultures, and needs.

Racially discriminatory gerrymandering results in voter suppression and disenfranchisement and under-representation of constituents. No groups have been harmed more by map manipulation and voter suppression than Black, Latino, disadvantaged, and disability communities. Their voices have been minimized in the ballot box and in Congress. This is blatantly unfair.

The only way to achieve equal justice is to, as much as possible, create politically neutral districts that reflect the needs of protected communities so they have the representation they deserve through the creation of opportunity districts.


QUICK LINKS