AOTL Public Testimony Training is on September 29 at 7 PM (CT)
Hearing is on September 30 at 9 AM

ISSUE

The central redistricting issue in Texas remains racially discriminatory gerrymandering, 2021 style. Senate Bill 6 relates to the districts to be drawn for U.S. House of Representatives.

In 2011, the Texas Legislature drew election maps that intentionally discriminated against people of color. A federal court that reviewed those maps noted the “exclusion of minority members and public input despite the minority population growth, the misleading information, the secrecy and closed process, and the rushed process…”

Now, in 2021, approximately 95% of the State’s total population increase since 2010 occurred in communities of color. However, the Texas Senate has made clear its willingness to again draw racially discriminatory districts to ensure that there are no electoral opportunity districts based on the record growth among communities of color in our most densely populated counties.

The Texas House must not repeat the mistakes made in 2011. And the House must not follow the Senate’s 2021 game plan by also drawing racially discriminatory maps.

Everyone can and should continue to express opposition to racially discriminatory gerrymandered districts, be they Texas Senate, House, State Board of Education, or U.S. Congressional districts. Regardless of if you can be in Austin or you submit comments online, elected representatives also need to hear from you. You can call, email–or especially visit–a member’s local district office. By visiting local district offices, those members are directly impacted by their constituents’ visits.

CONTACT THE SENATE SPECIAL REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE

Attend the Senate Committee Hearing

The Senate Special Committee on Redistricting will hold a public hearing on September 30, 2021, at 9:00 AM the Senate Chamber (1100 Congress Avenue, Austin, Texas 78701) to hear invited and public testimony. Only in-person or online submission of testimony are permitted.

Registration for in-person testimony before the Senate Special Committee on Redistricting must be done in person at the Senate chamber by completing and submitting a form (there are no registration kiosks). It is advisable to submit your in-person testimony registration form before the hearing begins at 9:00 AM, or no later than in the first hour of the hearing, though your form may be accepted later.

All on the Line is holding online training on September 29 at 7 PM. You can register HERE.

Submit Comments Online

Submit written comments to the Senate committee HERE. See the next section for a suggestion of what to write or say. Also see FOR MORE ON CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING below for more information and talking points.

Call/Write Senate Committee Members

Here’s a suggestion of what you can write or say… (please personalize!). Also see FOR MORE ON CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING below for more information and talking points.

My name is _____ and I live in _________. My zip code is ______ . I oppose the drawing of electoral district maps that do not reflect the record growth in population of people of color in Texas’ most populous counties. The goal of redistricting should be to accomplish what the Bill of Rights guarantees: equal justice under the law. Texas is an enormous state with a wide variety of people, cultures, and needs.

Racially discriminatory gerrymandering results in voter suppression and disenfranchisement and under-representation of constituents. No groups have been harmed more by map manipulation and voter suppression than Black, Latino, disadvantaged, and disability communities. Their voices have been minimized in the ballot box and in Congress. This is blatantly unfair.

The only way to achieve equal justice is to, as much as possible, create politically neutral districts that reflect the needs of protected communities so they have the representation they deserve through the creation of opportunity districts.


Senate Special Redistricting Committee

  • Chair: Joan Huffman, joan.huffman@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0117
  • Vice-Chair: Juan Hinojosa, juan.hinojosa@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0120
  • Member: Carol Alvarado, carol.alvarado@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0106
  • Member: Paul Bettencourt, paul.bettencourt@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0107
  • Member: Brian Birdwell, brian.birdwell@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0122
  • Member: Donna Campbell, donna.campbell@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0125
  • Member: Kelly Hancock, kelly.hancock@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0109
  • Member: Bryan Hughes, bryan.hughes@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0101
  • Member: Eddie Lucio, Jr., eddie.lucio@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0127
  • Member: Robert Nichols, robert.nichols@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0103
  • Member: Angela Paxton, angela.paxton@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0108
  • Member: Charles Perry, charles.perry@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0128
  • Member: Royce West, royce.west@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0123
  • Member: John Whitmire, john.whitmore@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0115
  • Member: Judith Zaffirini, judith.zaffirini@senate.texas.gov, 512-463-0121

CONTACT HOUSE REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

You can contact a member of the House Redistricting Committee directly to make your comment.

Here’s a suggestion of what you can write or say… (please personalize!).

My name is _____ and I live in _________. My zip code is ______ . I oppose the drawing of electoral district maps that do not reflect the record growth in population of people of color in Texas’ most populous counties. The goal of redistricting should be to accomplish what the Bill of Rights guarantees: equal justice under the law. Texas is an enormous state with a wide variety of people, cultures, and needs.

Racially discriminatory gerrymandering results in voter suppression and disenfranchisement and under-representation of constituents. No groups have been harmed more by map manipulation and voter suppression than Black, Latino, disadvantaged, and disability communities. Their voices have been minimized in the ballot box and in Congress. This is blatantly unfair.

The only way to achieve equal justice is to, as much as possible, create politically neutral districts that reflect the needs of protected communities so they have the representation they deserve through the creation of opportunity districts.


House Redistricting Committee

  • Chair: Todd Hunter, 512-463-0672, todd.hunter@house.texas.gov
  • Vice-Chair: Toni Rose, 512-463-0664, toni.rose@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Rafael Anchia, 512-463-0746, rafael.anchia@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Craig Goldman, 512-463-0608, craig.goldman@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Ryan Guillen, 512-463-0416, ryan.guillen@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Jacey Jetton, 512-463-0710, jacey.jetton@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Brooks Landgraf, 512-463-0546, brooks.landgraf@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Ina Minjarez, 512-463-0634, ina.minjarez@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Joe Moody, 512-463-0728, joe.moody@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Geanie Morrison, 512-463-0456, geanie.morrison@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Andrew Murr, 512-463-0536, andrew.murr@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Mike Schofield, 512-463-0528, mike.schofield@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Senfronia Thompson, 512-463-0720, senfronia.thompson@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Chris Turner, 512-463-0574, chris.turner@house.texas.gov
  • Member: James White, 512-463-0490, james.white@house.texas.gov

CONTACT YOUR OWN REPRESENTATIVES

Your elected representatives need to hear from you. You can call, email–or especially visit–your local district office. Representatives are directly impacted by their constituents’ visits. Express your opposition to racially discriminatory House, Senate, State Board of Education, and congressional districts.

Find who represents you HERE.

Then find the contact info for your state representative HERE or HERE. Find the contact info for your state senator HERE or HERE.

Here’s a suggestion of what you can write or say… (please personalize!).

My name is _____ and I live in _________. My zip code is ______ . I oppose the drawing of electoral district maps that do not reflect the record growth in population of people of color in Texas’ most populous counties. The goal of redistricting should be to accomplish what the Bill of Rights guarantees: equal justice under the law. Texas is an enormous state with a wide variety of people, cultures, and needs.

Racially discriminatory gerrymandering results in voter suppression and disenfranchisement and under-representation of constituents. No groups have been harmed more by map manipulation and voter suppression than Black, Latino, disadvantaged, and disability communities. Their voices have been minimized in the ballot box and in Congress. This is blatantly unfair.

The only way to achieve equal justice is to, as much as possible, create politically neutral districts that reflect the needs of protected communities so they have the representation they deserve through the creation of opportunity districts.


FOR MORE ON CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING