Hearing is on Monday, August 23, at 8:00 AM

ISSUE

Now in a third session of the Legislature (which Gov. Abbot called as COVID infections hit a new peak), state leadership is using every trick in the book to thwart voting rights and suppress turnout. In every version of state Senate and House bills, proponents have included rules that would:

  • strip voter rights
  • financially burden local governments
  • discourage poll workers
  • elevate partisan poll watcher power above election official authority
  • ban drive-through and outdoor voting
  • restrict voters from dropping off completed absentee ballots
  • shrink early voting periods
  • create new costs for disabled voters
  • increase burdens on voters with disabilities to access assistance at the polls
  • embrace suppression of votes by people of color, the elderly, the young and, especially, the disabled
  • criminalize the act of assisting voters

If SB 1 passes, it will have a damaging impact on our elections for decades. We must stop it now!

MAKE YOUR VOICE HEARD

The committee hearing is on Monday, August 23 at 8:00 AM. You can testify in person or make comments in writing until the hearing is adjourned. You can also contact the committee members directly.

Testify in person

If you can speak in person, you’ll have two minutes to talk. It’s a good idea to write out and practice in advance what you plan to say. See TALKING POINTS elsewhere in this CTA for ideas of what to say.

Here’s the public hearing meeting notice. The hearing will be held in Capitol Extension Auditorium, E1.004.

The info on in-person witness registration is HERE. Access info and health/safety info is HERE.

Testify in writing

You can make comments in writing until the meeting is adjourned. You can submit up to 3,000 characters. See TALKING POINTS elsewhere in this CTA for ideas of what to write.

To make comments online, go HERE. Fill in your contact information, then select “SB 1 by Hughes.” Fill in your comments and then hit Submit. Don’t forget to fill out the position field as “against” SB 1.

Contact the committee members directly

It never hurts to contact individual committee members with your thoughts. You can call or email the Constitutional Rights and Remedies Select Committee members directly.

You can say…

My name is ________ and my zip code is _______. As a Texas voter, I’m calling to oppose Senate Bill 1 and ask that you vote against it. Voting access is already harder in Texas than anywhere else in the nation. Our legislature should be working with local towns and cities to make access to voting easier, not harder. Without open access to voting, our country and state are doomed to having elected officials who are not held accountable and do not work to represent their constituents. {If you have a personal story of struggles with voting access, or can explain how the new bill would make it harder for you to vote, add those particulars here.} Please vote NO on SB 1!


Constitutional Rights and Remedies Select Committee Members

  • Chair: Trent Ashby (R57), 512-463-0508, Trent.Ashby@house.texas.gov
  • Vice-Chair: Senfronia Thompson (D141) 512-463-0720, senfronia.thompson@house.texas.gov
  • Member: John Bucy III (D136) 512-463-0696, john.bucy@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Travis Clardy (R11) 512-463-0592, travis.clardy@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Charlie Geren (R99) 512-463-0610, charlie.geren@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Jacey Jetton (R26) 512-463-0710, jacey.jetton@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Ann Johnson (D134) 512-463-0389, ann.johnson@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Stephanie Klick (R91) 512-463-0599, stephanie.klick@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Brooks Landgraf (R81) 512-463-0546, brooks.landgraf@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Oscar Longoria (D35) 512-463-0645, oscar.longoria@house.texas.gov
  • Member: J.M. Lozano (R43) 512-463-0463, jm.lozano@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Joe Moody ( D78) 512-463-0728, joe.moody@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Victoria Neave( D107) 512-463-0244, victoria.neave@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Matt Shaheen (R66) 512-463-0594, matt.shaheen@house.texas.gov
  • Member: James White (R19) 512-463-0490, james.white@house.texas.gov

TALKING POINTS

The League of Women Voters of Texas suggests that you include these points in your messages:

  • Request the committee focus on solutions for all voters and help restore the level of trust in Texas elections.
  • Acknowledge that the existing Election Code safeguards and transparency.
  • Say that adding electronic voter registration to the omnibus bill would greatly increase the accuracy and integrity of the voter registration rolls, as well as reduce costs and help reduce fraud.
  • State that, to be effective, poll watchers should receive required additional training and should acknowledge the integrity of the polling space by executing an oath similar to election workers.
  • Request that a complete cure process (alerting voters to mistakes and allowing them to correct those mistakes) be included for mail ballots and applications. SB 1 includes the ability to cure incomplete applications or ballots to the electronic ballot tracking system approved in the 87th regular session; however, House action can add a way to alert voters of the need for a cure, giving clear instructions and making the process uniform in all counties–not optional.
  • Ask to add provisions that allow blind voters a way to securely and privately vote.
  • Say that the Texas COVID epidemic highlights, more than ever, the need for safer methods of voting. We need the safer options of expanded early voting, extended hours at polling places, and more options to return vote by-mail ballots. These are things that Texans want.

Indivisible TX Lege would like you to include specific requests to:

  • Make drive-through voting optional for all counties
  • Make 24-hour voting optional for all counties
  • Make voting process rules for counties permissive rather than restrictive
  • Keep polling site order within the power of election judges

And don’t forget to include any personal stories!

MORE INFO

You can watch the live video of this hearing HERE.