Hearing is Tuesday, May 18 at 8 AM

ISSUE

Senate Bill 1254 would allow the state of Texas to develop and join an interstate compact in an unconstitutional attempt to allow local and state law enforcement to enforce immigration law. At a time when we are just recovering from the pandemic and the February winter storm, there is no reason to waste time on this unconstitutional and potentially costly proposal that would waste public safety resources on the already militarized and alienated border areas of our state.

CONTACT THE COMMITTEE

Please contact the House State Affairs Committee (contact info below) and urge them not to pass this bill.

You can say/write…

My name is _________ and I live in __________. My zip code is ______. I am calling to ask Representative ___________ not to pass Senate Bill 1254. SB 1254 would allow the state to be part of an interstate compact to have local and state law enforcement enforce immigration law. There is no reason to waste time on this unconstitutional and potentially costly proposal that would waste public safety resources.


House State Affairs Committee

  • Chair: Chris Paddie, 512-463-0556, chris.paddie@house.texas.gov
  • Vice Chair: Ana Hernandez, 512-463-0614, ana.hernandez@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Joe Deshotel, 512-463-0662, joe.deshotel@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Sam Harless, 512-463-0496, sam.harless@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Donna Howard, 512-463-0631, donna.howard@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Todd Hunter, 512-463-0672, todd.hunter@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Phil King, 512-463-0738, phil.king@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Eddie Lucio III, 512-463-0606, eddie.lucio_III@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Will Metcalf, 512-463-0726, will.metcalf@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Richard Raymond, 512-463-0558, richard.raymond@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Matt Shaheen, 512-463-0594, matt.shaheen@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Shelby Slawson, 512-463-0628, shelby.slawson@house.texas.gov
  • Member: John Smithee, 512-463-0702, john.smithee@house.texas.gov

PROVIDE WRITTEN TESTIMONY

You can also make comments online. Go HERE. Enter your information, then select “SB 1254 by Hall” and make your comments.

LINKS