COMMITTEE HEARING ON WEDNESDAY, APRIL 28

ISSUE

Senate Bill 28, which will be heard in House Public Education Committee on Wednesday, April 28, would remove the power of local governments and the State Board of Education (SBOE) to limit the expansion of charter schools. It would allow all charter school operators to site campuses wherever and whenever they want, without meaningful local government control or approval by the SBOE. These bills would, in essence, place all oversight and approval authority with the unelected commissioner of education. This would harm local public school systems.

Charter schools already have more advantages than public schools in that they receive $1,150 more per student in state funding, do not have to comply with the same teacher certification requirements or other regulations, and can expand with limited approval by the SBOE.

CONTACT COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

Every Texan should call or email the members of the House Public Education committee (contact info below) and ask them to vote NO on SB 28.

You can say/write…

Hello, my name is ________ . I live in ________ and my zip code is _____. I want Representative __________ to vote NO on Senate Bill 28. This bill would harm the public school system by preventing local governments from overseeing where new charter campuses are placed. It would also weaken the State Board of Education’s ability to regulate charter school expansion. Because the Senate passed the bill weeks ago, it is now up to the House to stop this dangerous legislation. Please vote NO on SB 28!

You can record that you made a call in our CTA Tracker!


House Public Education Committee

  • Chair: Rep. Harold Dutton, harold.dutton@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0510
  • Vice Chair: Rep. J. M. Lozano, jm.lozano@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0463
  • Member: Rep. Alma Allen, alma.allen@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0744
  • Member: Rep: Steve Allison, steve.allison@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0686
  • Member: Rep: Keith Bell, keith.bell@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0458
  • Member: Rep: Diego Bernal, diego.bernal@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0532
  • Member: Rep: Brad Buckely, brad.buckley@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0684
  • Member: Rep: Mary Gonzalez, mary.gonzalez@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0613
  • Member: Rep: Dan Huberty, dan.huberty@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0520
  • Member: Rep: Ken King, ken.king@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0736
  • Member: Rep: Thresa Meza, terry.meza@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0641
  • Member: Rep: James Talarico, james.talarico@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0670
  • Member: Rep: Gary VanDeaver, gary.vandeaver@house.texas.gov, 512-463-0692

SUBMIT A WRITTEN COMMENT

You can also submit a written comment HERE. Fill in your contact information, then scroll all the way down to Public Education April 27, 2021 – 8:00 AM and select SB 28 by Bettencourt.

You can write…

Senate Bill 28 would remove the power of local governments and the State Board of Education (SBOE) to limit the expansion of charter schools. It would allow all charter school operators to site campuses wherever and whenever they want, without meaningful local government control or approval by the SBOE. These bills would, in essence, place all oversight and approval authority with the unelected commissioner of education. This would harm local public school systems. Charter schools already have more advantages than public schools in that they receive $1,150 more per student in state funding, do not have to comply with the same teacher certification requirements or other regulations, and can expand with limited approval by the SBOE. I oppose SB 28.

BACKGROUND