ACT BY TUESDAY, APRIL 20

ISSUE

The Texas House will hear three sets of bills on Tuesday, April 20, each of which would create a new, non-partisan Texas Redistricting Commission. The three sets each include a bill that determines the rules for creating and governing the Commission’s work and a Joint Resolution to amend the Texas Constitution to create the Commission.

The goal of redistricting should be to accomplish what the Bill of Rights guarantees: equal justice under the law. Texas is an enormous state with a wide variety of people, cultures, and needs. The only way to achieve equal justice is to, as much as possible, create politically neutral districts that reflect the needs of protected communities. Then, everyone will have the representation they deserve.

The current process is not only highly partisan, but also doesn’t allow meaningful public input and transparency.

All three sets of bills before the House would be a vast improvement.

We prefer the set HB 3094/HJR 127 because it is comprehensive for state and federal districts and highly detailed in the areas of non-partisanship, duties, funding and processes.

The other sets that would be acceptable are:

  • HB 282/HJR 121
  • HB 1025/HJR 59

ACTION REQUIRED

Contact the House Redistricting Committee members and let them know you want them to vote for an independent, non-partisan, transparent commission and the Constitutional amendment to create it.

Want to call? You could say…

Hi. My name is ________. I live in ________ and my zip code is _________. I’m calling today to ask Rep. ________ to vote for House Bill 3094 and its creating legislation, HJR 127. Together these two votes would create a non-partisan, independent, transparent commission that respects all Texans’ needs in their representatives. Legislators who stand to benefit from districts gerrymandered in their favor should not be the ones drawing the maps!

I also favor HB 282 and HJR 121, or HB 1025 and HJR 59.


Want to email? See SUBMIT WRITTEN TESTIMONY below for a suggestion of what to write.

House Redistricting Committee

  • Chair: Todd Hunter, 512-463-0672, todd.hunter@house.texas.gov
  • Vice-Chair: Toni Rose, 512-463-0664, toni.rose@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Rafael Anchia, 512-463-0746, rafael.anchia@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Craig Goldman, 512-463-0608, craig.goldman@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Ryan Guillen, 512-463-0416, ryan.guillen@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Jacey Jetton, 512-463-0710, jacey.jetton@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Brooks Landgraf, 512-463-0546, brooks.landgraf@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Ina Minjarez, 512-463-0634, ina.minjarez@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Joe Moody, 512-463-0728, joe.moody@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Geanie Morrison, 512-463-0456, geanie.morrison@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Andrew Murr, 512-463-0536, andrew.murr@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Mike Schofield, 512-463-0528, mike.schofield@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Senfronia Thompson, 512-463-0720, senfronia.thompson@house.texas.gov
  • Member: Chris Turner, 512-463-0574, chris.turner@house.texas.gov
  • Member: James White, 512-463-0490, james.white@house.texas.gov

SUBMIT WRITTEN COMMENTS

You can also submit written comments. click HERE). Fill in your contact information, then select the following to comment on:

  • HJR 121 by Anchia
  • HB 282 by González, Mary
  • HJR 59 by Howard
  • HB 1025 by Howard
  • HJR 127 by Goodwin
  • HB 3094 by Goodwin

Here’s a suggestion of what you can write:

The goal of redistricting should be to accomplish what the Bill of Rights guarantees: equal justice under the law. Texas is an enormous state with a wide variety of people, cultures, and needs. The only way to achieve equal justice is to, as much as possible, create politically neutral districts that reflect the needs of protected communities so they have the representation they deserve.

Gerrymandering is a political process that draws district maps to favor one party, ethnic group or race. Gerrymandered districts do not respect the needs of voters, just politicians and powerful corporate interests. Spanning great spaces of rural real estate to connect two pieces of urban areas or carving slices of urban and rural communities to create districts harms communities. Urban, rural, poor and wealthy, white and non-white, apartments and single family areas often do not share the same needs. Transportation, health infrastructure, judicial, environmental, and enfranchisement issues deserve caring representation.

Gerrymandering results in voter suppression and disenfranchisement. No groups have been harmed more by map manipulation and voter suppression than Black, Latino, disadvantaged, and disability communities. Their voices have been minimized in the ballot box and in Congress. This is blatantly unfair.

BACKGROUND

Who represents you in Congress, in the Texas Legislature and on the State Board of Education? Who decides that? Does your vote count in your district as much as someone else’s in another district? This year, the Texas Legislature will decide all of that. They also are voting on two key issues that determine those answers for the future: Who draws the maps and the rules for map drawing.

Every 10 years after the Census, states redraw the maps that show who represents whom in government bodies. The U.S. Constitution requires this redistricting to create equal representation for all Americans as the population grows and shifts.

Gerrymandering is a political ploy that draws district maps to favor one party, ethnic group or race. Gerrymandered districts do not respect the needs of voters, just politicians and powerful corporate interests. Transportation, health infrastructure, judicial, environmental and voting rights issues deserve caring representation.

Texas has some of the worst gerrymandered districts in the country. The courts have had to intervene in every set of redistricting maps Texas has produced in memory. This discourages voters and wastes millions of dollars in court costs. And no groups have been harmed more by map manipulation and voter suppression than Black, Latino, disadvantaged and disability communities. Their voices have been minimized at the ballot box and in Congress. This is blatantly unfair and overdue for correction.

FOR MORE

For Fun…

Redistricting Bill Sets

Other Info